In this guide, you will find instuctions about removing an AutoComplete list entry from Outlook.
Microsoft removed the ability to remove individual contacts from the AutoComplete list on March 31, 2026. The feature is now available only in the Windows version of Outlook Classic and in Outlook Legacy (Classic) for Mac.
Support for Outlook Legacy (Classic) on Mac ended on October 1, 2026.
Alternatively, in Outlook on the web and the new Outlook for Windows, it is possible to clear all recipient suggestions at once.
Microsoft Outlook maintains the AutoComplete list. The list is used by both the automatic name-checking feature and the automatic completion feature. The AutoComplete list, also known as the nickname cache, is generated automatically when you send email messages from Outlook. The list contains SMTP addresses, LegacyExchangeDN entries, and display names for people to whom you have sent mail previously.
NB! The AutoComplete list for Outlook is specific to Outlook and is not shared with Outlook on the web. This app maintains its own AutoComplete list.
For more information, check Microsoft.com - The Outlook AutoComplete list.
Windows: Outlook desktop application
- Open the Outlook'i desktop application.
- Start composing an e-mail by clicking the New Email button.
- Type the first few characters of the AutoComplete entry that you want to remove.
When the entry appears in the list of suggestions, move your mouse pointer over the suggestion until it becomes highlighted, but don't select it.
When the X icon appears next to the highlighted suggestion, select X to remove the entry from the list, or press the Delete key on the keyboard.st address.
Mac: Outlook Legacy (Classic) desktop application
- Open the Outlook desktop application.
- Start composing a new email by clicking New Items → Email.
- Start typing the email address from the list.
- When the contact you want to remove appears, click the X button next to the contact to remove it from the AutoComplete list.
Outlook for Windows / Outlook on the web
If the recipient suggestions list contains outdated or unnecessary contacts, you can delete all suggestions saved based on previous activity at once in Outlook on the web and the new Outlook for Windows.
The feature clears the saved suggestions list. It is also possible to keep a setting enabled that prevents suggestions from being shown based on previously saved activity.
Ava Outlook veebiversioon
Open the Outlook web version at https://kiri.ut.ee or open Outlook for Windows:
Locate the Settings icon (the gear icon) in the upper-right corner and click it.
Navigate to General → Privacy and data.
Click Delete data and turn off to clear the saved suggestions list and disable future suggestion collection.
Outlook will confirm that the setting has been successfully applied and that the contact suggestions will be deleted within 48 hours.
After deleting the contact suggestions list, you can re-enable the autocomplete suggestions feature by clicking Enable enhanced contact suggestions.
Selecting X will prevent that name entry from appearing in the AutoComplete list again but won't remove it from your account. This entry may still appear in other areas in Outlook (such as search boxes).
NB! If you send a person a new email after you've removed their name from the AutoComplete list, their information will be restored to the list.










This page has no comments.